Physics programme for the first stage of the NICA SPD experiment


The Spin Physics Detector (SPD) is a future multipurpose experiment foreseen to run at the NICA collider, which is currently under construction at the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR, Dubna, Russia). The main purpose of the experiment is the study of the nucleon spin structure in collisions of longitudinally and transversely polarized protons and deuterons at $\sqrt{s}$ up to 27 GeV and luminosity up to 10$^{32}$ cm$^{-2}$ s$^{-1}$. The SPD experimental setup is being designed as a universal 4$\pi$ detector with advanced tracking and particle identification capabilities (TOF system, electromagnetic calorimeter, muon (range) system).

The SPD is planned to operate as a universal facility for comprehensive study of the unpolarized and polarized gluon content of the nucleon at large Bjorken-$x$, using different complementary probes such as: charmonia, open charm and prompt photon production processes, requires high energy, polarization and luminosity that will be achieved only some time after the beginning of the collider operation. 

At the workshop we plan to discuss possible polarized and unpolarized physics programme for the first stage of NICA operation with reduced luminosity and collision energy of proton and ion beams.

The workshop will take place by ZOOM only

  • Aida Galoyan
  • Aleksey Tishevskiy
  • Alexander Kovalenko
  • Alexandru Parvan
  • Alexei Larionov
  • Alexey Guskov
  • Alexey Livanov
  • Alexey Stavinskiy
  • Alexey Zhemchugov
  • Anatoly Kulikov
  • Anatoly L'vov
  • Andrew Zelenov
  • Anna Skachkova
  • Anton Uvarov
  • Arina Ponomareva
  • Azamat Temerbayev
  • Boris Kostenko
  • Chitta Ranjan Das
  • Danil Chemezov
  • Dimitrije Maletic
  • Dorota Kotlorz
  • Egle Tomasi-Gustafsson
  • Elena Bratkovskaya
  • Elena Kokoulina
  • Fabienne Kunne
  • Imrich Zborovsky
  • Ivan Moshkovskiy
  • Izabela Ciepał
  • Johann Haidenbauer
  • Jovan Milosevic
  • Leonid Afanasyev
  • Mark Strikman
  • Michael Finger
  • Mikhail Barabanov
  • Mikhail Kozhin
  • Mikhail Tokarev
  • Mikhail Zhabitsky
  • Miroslav Finger
  • Mridupawan Deka
  • Nadezhda Ladygina
  • Nikolai Nikolaev
  • Noura Elsayed
  • Oleg Teryaev
  • Qiang Zhao
  • Reham El-Kholy
  • Sergey Gevorgyan
  • Sergey Goloskokov
  • Sherouk Elsherbiny
  • Silvia Pisano
  • STEPAN Shimanskiy
  • Temur Enik
  • Valentin Ustinov
  • Valeriy Polyanskiy
  • Valery Chmill
  • Valery Lyubovitskij
  • Victor Abramov
  • Victor FIMUSHKIN
  • Victor Kim
  • Vladimir Baskov
  • Vladimir Kurbatov
  • Vladimir Ladygin
  • Vladimir Uzhinsky
  • Vsevolod Popov
  • Yuriy Uzikov
  • Yury Plis
  • Ольга Кутинова